Moving to Myrtle Beach South Carolina

 

Oh the anticipation! What mistake should I avoid when moving to Myrtle Beach?

So you recently moved to Myrtle Beach and are settling into your new home and enjoying the good life and everything beautiful South Carolina has to offer. The kitchen appliances have all found a home, your closet is meticulously organized, the wall art is hung and the last of the moving boxes have been recycled. You think you checked everything off your mile long moving list and are starting to feel some calm and peace in your day to day life. Sound familiar?

 

What most new residents to Myrtle Beach don’t realize is there is still one important lingering item that needs to be completed- and soon! Can you think of it? We'll give you a hint: You need to change your vehicle tags to South Carolina! Many people don’t think about putting it on their list or moreover, if they do rememeber, they don’t think its an important task to complete after they move here.

What some individuals don’t realize is that new residents have 30 days after they first move to the state to change their tags. There are some avoidable repercussions if you don’t, and The Jerry Pinkas Real Estate Team wants to make sure that you don’t make this mistake when moving to Myrtle BeachSound like a daunting task? Worry not, as we have all the information you will possibly need (and maybe a little more) on how to update your vehicle tags to reflect your beautiful and vibrant new home in the stunning state of South Carolina.

 

Updating your Tags when Moving to Myrtle Beach

Why is it important to change my tags when moving to Myrtle Beach?

There are a few reasons why it is important to update your vehicle tags after moving to Myrtle Beach. The first involves the “avoidable repercussions” that we spoke about earlier. A ticket. Yes, law officials are (and probably will) issue you a ticket if you have lived in the area more than 30 days and do not have state issued tags.

Many residents push the task aside thinking they will get away it, mainly because Myrtle Beach is a transient area filled with out of town guests and vacationers that flock here to enjoy the beautiful weather and glistening beaches. And let’s be honest, most people try to avoid the Department of Motor Vehicles like the plague due to slow moving ticket numbers resulting in long wait times. But it really isn’t worth the risk of getting a ticket if a law official finds out you actually are a resident and not just passing through the area? Our team sure doesn't think so. Especially since we laid out everything you need to do to avoid this mistake that many new residents of Myrtle Beach unfortunately fall into.  

south carolina license plate laws

The second reason residents should change their tags when moving to Myrtle Beach is actually a benefit and a should be a motivator to head directly to your local Department of Motor Vehicles. Lower taxes! Once you change your vehicle’s tags over, residents will be happy to know that their taxes here in the state of South Carolina will amount to a lot less than what other residents are paying in other states around the country. In fact, South Carolina is in the top ten states in the country with the lowest tax burden! Go SC!

And on a related note, it is also very important to update your address when moving to South Carolina on all official documents, as the state sends out essential information to the address that is documented on your license. A resident has ten days after moving to change their address with the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles, and once that is complete, all driver and vehicle records will be updated simultaneously. And speaking of licenses, it is imperative for residents that move to South Carolina from another state to apply for a South Carolina license or ID. Once the resident attains their new license, it is required that they turn over their out-of-state license or ID at that time. So brush that hair and get out your favorite shirt, and head over to your local Department of Motor Vehicles for your shiny new South Carolina license!

 

South Carolina License Plate

  

What is the process of changing my tags?

We thought you would never ask! New residents of Myrtle Beach are able to register their car either by mail or in person with the South Carolina Motor Vehicle Division. Before you are able to register your car, residents must first pay the county’s vehicle property tax with the county auditor (for a list of counties, please click here). It is very important get this done first as there is nothing worse than painfully waiting in line at the Department of Motor Vehicles only to be told you don’t have what you need and to come back. This will not only cause frustration, but also add unnecessary time to your visit. And let’s be honest, the main goal is to get in and GET OUT as soon as possible.

After paying the small tax, ensure you hold on to the original paid vehicle property tax receipt, as you will need this in the next step to register your vehicle. Residents that move to South Carolina from out-of-state after July, 1 2017 also have to pay a one-time Infrastructure Maintenance Fee (or IMF) of $250 – this is in addition to the fees applicable to the title, registration and property tax. After you have the receipts, residents of Myrtle Beach are now ready to register their vehicle.

The next step is to head to your local Department of Motor Vehicles - the address for the Department of Motor Vehicles in Myrtle Beach is 1200 21st Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577. Hopefully there is a short line (or ideally, none at all!) and you can then get your in state registration and license. Starting the month that the vehicle was registered, the South Carolina car registration certificate is valid for two years.

 

South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles

What do I need to bring with me to transfer my out-of-state title and/or registration?

You will need to bring a few things with you the day you go for your in state tags. Be sure to check that you have ALL of the following items or you will not be able to complete the process that day:

-Registration and title payment

-$250 Infrastructure Maintenance Fee

-Liability insurance information

-The original receipt showing payment in full for the vehicle property tax

-Out-of-state vehicle title and/or registration

-Completed SCDMV Form 400 (commonly known as the Application for Certificate of Title/Registration)

-Identification | Acceptable forms include driver’s license, identification card, passport (with visa), permanent residency card or an Employment Authorization Document (or EAD).

Living part time in Myrtle Beach


What if I only live in South Carolina part of the year? Do I still need to register my vehicle?  

Good question! If you own a vacation home in Myrtle Beach and your vehicle stays at that home for six months or more of the year you need to do the following items. First, you need to complete the Statement of Vehicle Operation (SCDMV Form TI-006) and bring a minimum of one of the following to a South Carolina Division of Motor Vehicle branch:

-If you lease a home/apartment or are a homeowner in the state, and you own the vehicle, you must provide proof of one South Carolina address from the list on the SCDMV (or United States Citizen’s Checklist).

-If you are employed in South Carolina and own the vehicle, you must provide a letter from your employer confirming your employment with them.

-If you are the owner of the vehicle and are not the homeowner or person leasing the home you reside in, you must complete and bring the SCDMV Form TI-006 (or Statement of Vehicle Operation). You will also need to bring a copy of the homeowner’s valid South Carolina license or ID and the correct address, and the homeowner must visit a South Carolina Division of Motor Vehicle branch with you to complete the SCDMV Form TI-006A (or Affidavit of Vehicle Principally Garaged at South Carolina Residence).  


We hope this information helps make your transition a little smoother. Our team at Jerry Pinkas Realty want to help you avoid the common pitfalls of moving that most realtors don’t advise on. We are here to not only help you find your perfect home, but help make the moving process as seamless as possible. Please contact us today with any questions you have on this topic and we will do our best to help you navigate the South Carolina requirements for switching over your out-of-state tags. Contact us today! 

Follow us on Facebook for more great moving tips!

"147,000 fans cant be wrong! Get the inside scoop here!" 


Pick up the phone and call 843-839-9870


Best Realtor in Myrtle Beach


Why pick average, when you can have an expert?

Give us a call 843-839-9870


PS: Get The FREE Myrtle Beach Real Estate App for Iphones or Android

Myrtle Beach Real Estate App For Iphone     Myrtle Beach Real Estate App for Android